Finding Happiness in the Small Things

Today, March 20th, is the International Day of Happiness. Now I’ve always thought these “International Day of…” were a bit silly, and the “National Day of…” even more so. They’re just an excuse to eat pancakes on “National Pancake Day” (March 7th) or talk like you’re Captain Jack Sparrow on “International Talk Like a Pirate Day” (September 19th). However, this International Day of Happiness seems to me to be a bit more worthwhile. It’s on the first day of spring, and already that makes me feel a bit happier. The days will start to be longer than the nights, the birds are all returning from the south, the big snow piles have melted down to their dirty mounds. It feels like all we really need is a good long rain and the world will look fresh and ready for spring.

Today has reminded me to find happiness in the small things. I was happy that it was sunny and I could wear my favorite new sunglasses on my way home from work. I was happy that it was warm enough that I could wear a light spring jacket and didn’t need to wear my winter coat. I was even happy that I had leftovers from the night before to have for supper so I didn’t have to spend a lot of time and effort trying to decide what to eat.

I have also started looking forward to this coming weekend. My parents and brother will be coming to stay with me for the weekend, and my brother will then continue to stay with me that whole next week. While there are a lot of things that I need to do to prepare for their arrival, such as making beds, cleaning the bathroom, planning meals and buying the required groceries, and figuring out how to entertain them for the weekend, I’m still very excited for them to come visit.

I see my family almost every other weekend, but it’s always when I go back home and stay with them for the weekend. It’s the same as when I was in college, and not even too different to high school. We do the same things, go the same places, eat the same foods. I love it, but it’s always the same. When they come to visit me, however, it’s different. They are coming to my new life, where I live in an apartment and not a house, where I live in a small town with different stores and restaurants. They get to experience what it’s like for me, and I like that. Most of the time

It can sometimes be hard suddenly having three extra people in your two bedroom apartment, all wanting to sit on your couch, watch what they want on the TV, eat the foods they want, and put your dishes back in the cupboard where they think they should go. However, this next time that my family comes to visit, I plan on trying to just enjoy the trip. I will make the effort not to feel like they are inserting themselves into my life. They instead love me so much that they will leave the comfort of their own bed, home, city with many options of restaurants and stores, and will drive over two hours to come see me. That’s pretty great.

Onward,

KT

Leave a Reply

