KT and the Quest for Happiness

I have decided to start on a quest for happiness. The term “quest for happiness” may be a bit extravagant, but it sounds a lot better than “trying a bunch of stuff so that I don’t spiral into a pit of despair.” Yikes, that sounds dark. It’s maybe not so bad, but I’ve been in a rut since, well, probably years, and I want to change that before it’s too late.

If I had to describe my life, I’d say it was mediocre. It’s not terrible by any means, but it’s not really anything special. I am a manufacturing engineer at an industrial plant in central Minnesota. It’s a good job, but again, nothing special. I live by myself in an apartment and am financially comfortable. My parents and brother live about 2 hours away and I still go home about every other weekend to visit them.

My life is filled with routines. I wake up at the same time each day, have cereal for breakfast, go to work, eat lunch at my desk, come home, watch TV and eat dinner on the couch, then watch some more TV and go to bed. On week days, the only variety I get is if I decide between Frosted Flakes or Lucky Charms for breakfast. OK, that may be a slight exaggeration, but you get the picture. I like routine, I like knowing exactly what’s going to happen and being comfortable with knowing the outcome.

However, I am beginning to find that routines can be boring. Routines can be lonely. Routines can make it so that over 2.5 years have gone by at the same job and you feel like nothing has changed except that you’re older and still single. You can feel yourself slipping into a sort of half-life, where you’re not truly living your life to the fullest.

That’s why I’ve decided to go on this quest for happiness. I want to be able to look back on my life and feel like I accomplished things, that I made memories. I hope to document my journey in this blog, to help remind myself on the hard days what I’m working towards, and to share this quest with anyone who decides to read it. Quests can sometimes seem long and daunting, but they always start with one step. This is my first step. Wish me luck.

Onward,

KT

Leave a Reply

